Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as Chief Justice of India

Bruno Cirelli
Agosto 28, 2017

President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

He will be the third person from Odisha to be appointed the Chief Justice of India, after Justices Ranganath Misra and G B Pattanaik.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter soon after the swearing in ceremony to wish Justice Misra.

"I congratulate Justice Dipak Misra on taking oath as the Chief Justice of India".

The 64-year-old Misra will be 45th Chief Justice of India.

With a tenure of almost 14 months, Justice Misra will have an unenviable task of filling up vacancies in High Courts and the Supreme Court. His efforts extended to creating the facility of "Legal Assistance Establishments" or Nyaya Sanyog which cater to poor litigants to get faster access to justice by accessing court documents, case statuses and easy connectivity with the lawyers via phone numbers or online.

On October 10, 2011, Misra was appointed to the Supreme Court.

Misra, who practiced constitutional, civil, criminal, revenue, service and sales tax matters at the Orissa High Court and Service Tribunal was enrolled as advocate in February 1977. Headed the bench who dismissed the plea filed by the Mumbai serial blasts convict Yakub Memon seeking a stay on his execution.

He was also heading the bench which made singing the national anthem compulsory in cinema halls as well as standing up for the same.

During his tenure, Dipak Misra will be part of the decision-making bench that will be deciding on several important issues including, Ayodhya case, the Cauvery waters dispute, SEBI- Sahara payment row, BCCI reforms, and the Panama Paper leaks.

Altre relazioni OverNewsmagazine

Discuti questo articolo