Stoilov won't regret losing Twumasi after Champions League heroics

Rufina Vignone
Agosto 24, 2017

Celtic boss Brendan Rodgers wants his team to still be in European football in the new year after they reached the Champions League group stage.

You can see some group stage scenarios (best and worst) for the following clubs by clicking on the corresponding links: Chelsea, Tottenham, Manchester City, Liverpool and Manchester United.

This year, with a strong pot 2 and pot 3 due to the way pot 1 is seeded (domestic champions), Chelsea are nearly guaranteed to end up with a tough draw. After their promotion to the Bundesliga last season they excelled, with Naby Keita the stand-out player.

The aforementioned Manchester clubs are in Pot Two; they're accompanied by Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, PSG, Borussia Dortmund, Sevilla and Porto.

Pot one is composed of the domestic champions in Uefa's eight top-ranked nations.

The Scottish champions were given a scare before advancing to the Champions League group stage 8-4 on aggregate. No two teams from the same country can be drawn against one another, while sides from Russian Federation and Ukraine are also kept apart for political reasoning.

"Last year was a really hard group but to be fair it doesn't matter what team we're going to get, we're going to face teams with a lot of money and a lot of quality so it's going to be hard".

All the teams would be keen to avoid the heavyweights of the Champions League including, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Bayern Munich and Juventus. They will be in pot four, the bottom set of seeds.

The draw for the eight groups, featuring 32 teams in all, begins live on Eurosport 1 at 5pm BST on Thursday at the Grimaldi Forum in the Principality. Real Madrid are enjoying one of the most successful spells in their history and have a team that looks virtually unstoppable (as United themselves found out in the Uefa Super Cup).

Leipzig and Qarabag, the 106th-ranked champion of Azerbaijan, are the only group-stage newcomers. Along with them is Real Madrid, Monaco, Juventus, Benfica, Spartak Moscow, Bayern Munich and Shakhtar Donetsk. Anderlecht, FC Basel, Besiktas, Liverpool, Napoli, Olympiacos, Roma, Tottenham Hotspur. Therefore, there will be only two French clubs to C1 in the course of the coming months: Paris Saint-Germain and AS Monaco.

The League will then kick off on September 12.

Altre relazioni OverNewsmagazine

Discuti questo articolo