Morgan Freeman to get Screen Actors lifetime award

Paterniano Del Favero
Agosto 23, 2017

Oscar victor Morgan Freeman will receive the 2018 SAG life achievement award next January. While his first two Oscar bids predated the competitive SAG Awards, he contended for the latter three with the guild as well and won here prior to prevailing at the Oscars in 2004.

Now 80 years old, Freeman has appeared in almost 100 films since he began acting at the age of 12, and has earned numerous accolades, including an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor in Million Dollar Baby. "Morgan showed us that true perfection is what a performer brings to the part", Gabrielle Carteris, SAG president, says.

SAG announced the award on Tuesday (Aug 22). Some actors spend their entire careers waiting for the ideal role.

In 2005, he won an Oscar for playing a former boxer in Million Dollar Baby.

"He is innovative, fearless and completely unbound by expectations", she added. "It has been a privilege to see his genius at work".

He has almost 100 feature film credits including "The Dark Knight", "The Bucket List", "Glory", "Lean on Me", "Se7en", "Amistad", "Bruce Almighty", and "Along Came a Spider".

Freeman's voice is among the most recognizable in entertainment.

Freeman has also spent seven years as an executive producer, narrator and host of Through the Wormhole with Morgan Freeman, a "series that explores some of the deepest mysteries of existence, such as what triggered life on Earth".

In 1973, Freeman co-founded the Frank Silvera Writers' Workshop, which supports promising African-American playwrights.

Freeman also hosted the series "The Story of God with Morgan Freeman" on the National Geographic Channel and will next host "The Story of Us with Morgan Freeman", which premieres October 11 on the National Geographic Channel. Other recent honorees include Carol Burnett, Debbie Reynolds, Rita Moreno and Dick Van Dyke.

Altre relazioni OverNewsmagazine

Discuti questo articolo