US Issues Statement on Sanctions against Russia, Iran, N. Korea

Bruno Cirelli
Luglio 31, 2017

The White House said Friday that President Donald Trump will sign the legislation, which passed the House by a 419-3 vote and the Senate by a 98-2 vote.

But it has caused some consternation in European capitals, which are accustomed to coordinating anti-Russia measures on both sides of the Atlantic in a common Western front reminiscent of the Cold War.

Paris had previously termed the U.S. bill "illegal" in worldwide law, while Berlin had warned its businesses, particularly a controversial pipeline project between Russian Federation and Germany, must not be targeted.

In a statement released on Saturday, Secretary of State Rex Tillerson said that Washington will work closely with its friends and allies to ensure its messages to Russia, Iran, and North Korea are clearly understood.

An attempt by Secretary of State Rex Tillerson to portray recently passed Russian sanctions legislation as a sign Americans want Russia to improve relations with the USA has been derided by Moscow.

The U.S. Statement Department says that the United States will ensure its messages to Russia, Iran and North Korea are clearly understood with a package sanctions against the three nations.

In addition, the European Union broadened sanctions against Russia after the shooting down of Malaysia Airlines flight MH17 in eastern Ukraine in July 2014, blamed by the European Union on Russian-backed rebels.

Altre relazioni OverNewsmagazine

Discuti questo articolo