Ann Budge Retains Place on SPFL Board

Bruno Cirelli
Luglio 26, 2017

The new SPFL board met at Hampden on Monday to discuss the league's position and take legal advice on the issue.

Celtic had called for the authorities to look again at the findings of a 2013 SPL commission, chaired by Lord Nimmo-Smith, which decided the Ibrox club "did not gain any unfair competitive advantage" from their use of EBTs.

Rangers were fined £250,000 for breaching player-registration rules.

Despite renewed claims that the club should be stripped of titles won when the tax-avoidance scheme was in operation, retrospective action is thought to be unlikely after the league's annual meeting yesterday.

The SPFL board will issue a statement tomorrow which they intend to be their own final position on the issue. You will get a full explanation on Wednesday. It is a brand new board and I think to come out with something now would be a big ask.

Rangers managing director Stewart Robertson and Hamilton Accies chairman Les Gray were elected as new Premiership representatives, replacing Celtic chief executive Peter Lawwell and Partick Thistle managing director Ian Maxwell who last week announced they would not be seeking re-election.

Rangers managing director Stewart Robertson was one of the new SPFL board members elected at today's AGM.

Morton chief executive Warren Hawke and Martin Ritchie of Falkirk are the Ladbrokes Championship delegates while Stranraer chairman Iain Dougan will represent the bottom two divisions.

Altre relazioni OverNewsmagazine

Discuti questo articolo