Prez poll: Meira seeks support of Cong lawmakers from Himachal

Barsaba Taglieri
Luglio 17, 2017

"Earlier also, the members had exercised their conscience during the presidential contest between Neelam Sanjiva Reddy and V V Giri", she told the Congress lawmakers.

The Congress-led opposition nominated Kumar to face National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

The NCP today rubbished "rumours" that some of its MLAs and MPs may indulge in cross-voting in the presidential election and asserted that the party stands firmly with the UPA candidate Meira Kumar. Sources in the MIM told The Sunday Guardian that the party might abstain from the election to prove that it is equidistant from both the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the opposition Congress.

While the election for the presidential post will be held on 17 July, the vice-presidential elections, who is also the chairman of Rajya Sabha, will be held on 5 August.

At one stage, MIM contemplated to abstain from the voting but later chose to support Meira Kumar on the request of Sonia Gandhi. As many as 17 non-NDA parties, including Congress, the Left parties, TMC, BSP, SP, DMK, NCP, RJD, JMM JD-S and NC, are supporting Meira Kumar. MIM president and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi will chair the meeting where all its seven MLAs will be present.

In the 288-member State Assembly, Congress has 42 members while NCP has 41, PWP two, Samajwadi Party two, CPM one and MIM two. TRS president and Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao is keen on ensuring Kovind's resounding victory from Telangana.

"Some disgruntled members from NDA may vote for Meira Kumar".

Altre relazioni OverNewsmagazine

Discuti questo articolo