Nine parties vote for secret ballot

Bruno Cirelli
Luglio 17, 2017

According to her spokesman‚ Moloto Mothapo‚ at the lapse of the deadline‚ nine of the 13 parties represented in the National Assembly had submitted views.

Political parties - including the Democratic Alliance (DA), Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) and the United Democratic Movement (UDM) - and members of Parliament had until the end of business on Friday, July 14 to formally put forward reasons for and against the use of a secret ballot.

The Constitutional Court ruled in June that Mbete has the power to decide on whether a secret ballot should be used.

He reiterated opposition parties' call for Mbete to recuse herself from presiding over the debate on the motion.

"We have heard Baleka saying members of the ANC must not vote against the president", Holomisa said.

"We are concerned about Ms Baleka's accusations that certain judges are biased against her party". Your action undermines your duty to act as liaison between Parliament, as an institution, and the other arms of state. The Speaker has a long history of showing bias in her slavish defence of President Zuma, and she is not suitable to preside over this important debate.

"It means that you still fail to separate your role as the head of the National Assembly and that of ANC chairperson".

The motion is set to be held on August 8.

Altre relazioni OverNewsmagazine

Discuti questo articolo